May 31, 2007

The 2007 Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology has been awarded to Vickie S Baselski, PhD, and was presented at the American Society for Microbiology (ASM) General Meeting awards dinner in Toronto.

The bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award is presented to an exceptional microbiologist who promotes leadership in the field of clinical microbiology. Developed as a tribute to Alexander Sonnenwirth, PhD, the award honors an individual whose dedication to ASM and promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science are reminiscent of the award’s namesake. The award has been sponsored by bioMérieux since 1986.

Baselski is a professor in the Department of Pathology at the University of Tennessee, Memphis. She is an advocate for the role of laboratory scientists in positions of responsibility in clinical microbiology and is one of the country’s foremost authorities with regard to reimbursement issues related to clinical microbiology and serves as a resource for laboratories across the country.