Gene HerbekGene Herbek, MD, FCAP [Image courtesy: Methodist Women’s Hospital]     Gene N. Herbek, MD, FCAP, of Omaha, Neb, was recently sworn in as president of the College of American Pathologists (CAP), Northfield, Ill.
       Herbek has been actively involved in the CAP for more than 24 years and has served on the CAP Board of Governors, most recently as president-elect and secretary-treasurer. He presently serves as a CAP medical laboratory inspector, a role he began with the College as a resident. He also has served as chair of the finance committee, chair of the Council on Membership and Public Affairs, and vice chair of the Council of Scientific Affairs, and others. He began his CAP involvement as a member of the CAP insurance committee in 1989.
       Herbek currently serves as medical director of the Methodist Women’s Hospital laboratory and medical director of the Transfusion and Coagulation Services for the Pathology Center at Methodist Hospital, both in Omaha. He is board certified in anatomic and clinical pathology.

Click here to read a recent CLP Inside Track interview with Herbek.

       Richard Friedberg MD PhDRichard Friedberg, MD, PhD [Image courtesy: Baystate Health]Richard C. Friedberg, MD, PhD, FCAP, of Springfield, Mass, was recently sworn in as the CAP’s president-elect. Friedberg will immediately begin serving in this capacity, and becomes CAP president in the fall of 2015.
       Friedberg chairs the Department of Pathology, Baystate Health, Springfield, Mass. He is also professor and deputy chairman of the Department of Pathology, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston.
       Along with his role as a member of the CAP board of governors during the past 6 years, Friedberg has chaired CAP’s Council on Government and Professional Affairs, as well as the policy roundtable, risk management, and strategy management committees. He has also served as a member of the board of governors’ executive committee, CGPA executive committee, political action committee, finance committee, investment committee, and transformation program office steering committee.
      He is board certified in clinical pathology, blood banking, and transfusion medicine.

       Philip T. Cagle, MD, FCAP, of Houston, was named the 2013 Pathologist of the Year by the CAP.
       Cagle received the award, the CAP’s highest honor, in recognition for his outstanding contributions as editor of the College’s award-winning peer-reviewed journal—Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine. He was also recognized with the CAP Distinguished Patient Care Award for serving as co-chair in the development of the CAP lung cancer biomarker evidence-based guideline. The recommendations mark a significant breakthrough in the diagnosis and treatment of lung cancer and were a joint project with the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer and the Association for Molecular Pathology.
       The American Board of Pathology certifies Cagle in clinical and anatomic pathology; he holds medical licensure in Texas and Tennessee.

       Feriyl Bhaijee, MBChB, chief resident of anatomic and clinical pathology at the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC), Jackson, Miss, was recently presented with the CAP Resident of the Year Award.
       Bhaijee is honored for her dedication to the highest standards of patient care and medical student and resident education, and the College applauds her achievements as a next-generation pathologist who represents and communicates the specialty’s value across interdisciplinary care teams within her program and, more broadly, to the public sector, from patients to policy makers.
       The CAP established the Resident of the Year award in 2010 to recognize the outstanding contributions by a CAP Junior Member to the specialty to pathology, pathologists, laboratory medicine, and to patients.

[Source: CAP]