Mullenix Joins CLP Advisory Board
CLP has named Patricia A. Mullenix, BS, MT(ASCP)SH, to its editorial advisory board. Mullenix is currently hematology technical manager at Memorial Health University Medical Center (MHUMC) in Savannah, Ga. Prior to joining MHUMC in 1992, she was manager of hematology, blood bank, and microbiology at St Joseph Medical Center in Fort Wayne, Ind.

Mullenix has been a featured speaker at many industry events, and she has written articles for several publications, including the American Journal of Clinical Pathology and Quarterly Connection, a laboratory-competency-assessment and continuing-education publication.

CLMA Presents Awards
To commemorate the legacy of Clinical Laboratory Management Association (CLMA) member and educator Lyle Rosser, Jr, CLMA and BD partnered in 2004 to create the Lyle Rosser, Jr, Scholarship. The winners for 2006, who received a scholarship to attend CLMA’s ThinkLab ’06 in Charlotte, NC, are:

Lisa Anthony, director of technical operations, Health Network Laboratories, Allentown, Pa;

Ida (Dolly) Burdick, coordinator of laboratory, Calumet Medical Center, Chilton, Wis;

Suzy Ghazarossian, blood bank supervisor/LIS coordinator, Century City Doctors Hospital, Stevenson Ranch, Calif;

Teresa Jarvis, laboratory director, United Medical Center Laboratories, Cheyenne, Wy;

Dan Leger, region laboratory manager, Restigouche Health Authority, Campbellton, NB, Canada;

Angela Mack, laboratory director, Sauk Prairie Memorial Hospital, Prairie du Sac, Wis;

Sue Martinmaas, laboratory director, Tahoe Forest Hospital District, Truckee, Calif;

Jean Sapere, laboratory director, Inland Hospital, Waterville, Me;

Bonnie Sellers, compliance manager/finance liaison, Bon Secours Hampton Roads Laboratory, Norfolk, Va; and

Camille Williams, med-tech, core/blood bank and point-of-care coordinator, Faulkner Hospital, Boston.

The Lyle Rosser, Jr, Scholarship is financially supported by an unrestricted educational grant from BD and administered by CLMA. Applicants are evaluated based on materials that include a résumé, statement, and references.

CLMA also presented its chapter awards during ThinkLab ’06. The Chicago Chapter won the Chapter Excellence Award for Education; the Trillium Chapter (based in Toronto, Ontario) won the Chapter Excellence Award for Leadership and Administration; and the Six Rivers Chapter (based in Cincinnati) won the Chapter Excellence Award for Communication.

Finally, Sandra Jameson, laboratory supervisor at Children’s Hospital in Omaha, Neb, was named Member of the Year.

Orner and Pollison to Represent CLMA Chapters to Board of Directors
Carla Orner, from CLMA’s Kansas City Chapter, was named Council of Chapter Leaders (CCL) chair-elect at the CCL meeting held during CLMA’s ThinkLab ’06 in Charlotte, NC. She will join CCL chair Ruth Pollison, from the New Jersey Chapter, in representing the interests of chapters to CLMA’s board of directors.

Clinical Laboratory Partners Names Fantus President & CEO
James E. Fantus has been appointed president and CEO of Clinical Laboratory Partners. He will report to George Kyriacou, vice president, network development, Hartford Health Care Corp, and board member. Fantus was previously CEO of SED Medical Laboratories in Albuquerque, NM, where he directed laboratories in five acute-care hospitals, a consolidated central laboratory, nine clinic laboratories, and a statewide network of 13 patient-service centers. His previous experience also includes senior executive positions at hospital-owned and operated integrated laboratory systems, including Sonora Quest Laboratories in Phoenix and Medical Science Laboratories in Milwaukee.

ASCP Honors Three Associate Members
Three associate member awards were presented during the American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP) Leadership Exchange conference, held in Baltimore in March.

J. Philip McCoy, Jr, PhD, director of the flow cytometry core facility at the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute in Bethesda, Md, was awarded the 2006 ASCP Associate Member Lifetime Achievement Award. The award honors an associate member who has demonstrated a commitment to the profession through work, attitude, and society activities. For more than 15 years, he has served ASCP as a planner and presenter of programs on molecular pathology, diagnostic immunopathology, and flow cytometry. He has also been an author of ASCP Check Sample exercises and helped to recruit experts in laboratory medicine to serve the association. Throughout the years, he has mentored many residents and medical-technology trainees who have rotated through his flow cytometry lab. He has served several other organizations as an ad hoc reviewer of various publications, and he is the current president of the Clinical Cytometry Society.

Nathan H. Johnson, PhD, MT(ASCP)DLM, SC, SLS, received the 2006 ASCP Associate Member Excellence in Management Award. The award honors an ASCP associate who is actively engaged in laboratory management or supervision and has demonstrated effective leadership skills and management strategies regarding personnel, finance, and operations. Johnson, a member of ASCP since 1989, has served as the deputy branch chief, Applied Biology, at the US Air Force Research Laboratory at Wright Patterson Air Force Base in Ohio since 2003. He has been a contributing editor for Tech Sample exercises and conducted an ASCP workshop, “Making the Leap to Management.” In addition, he served on the faculty of Wright State University and Central Michigan University.

Cheryl Jackson-Harris, MS, MT(ASCP)SH, coordinator of the Clinical Science Program and a professor of Health Sciences at California State University (CSU) at Dominguez Hills in Carson, Calif, was presented the 2006 ASCP Associate Member Excellence in Education Award. The award recognizes an ASCP associate who is actively involved in a medical laboratory education program and has demonstrated outstanding performance in teaching through work in the classroom or clinic, or through the development of effective teaching methods and instructional materials. Jackson-Harris’s teaching responsibilities at CSU include undergraduate hematology, urinalysis, phlebotomy, general laboratory practice, management, and special topics. Certified with the ASCP Board of Registry (BOR) since 1968, she has made several presentations about urinalysis for ASCP workshops and has been a regular contributor of exercises for ASCP Tech Sample. She served as editor for the Hematology Tech Sample Series from 2001 to 2005, and is a member of the ASCP BOR Hematology examination committee for national certification. She is also a member of ASCP’s hematology examination committee and recently completed a term on the ASCP Tech Sample editorial board.