Washington — The American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) has announced its 2011 Major Award Winners to be honored at its 2011 Annual Meeting in Atlanta July 24-28.

Stephen Kahn, PhD
Loyola University Medical Center
Maywood, Ill

Considered the premier award of the Association, it is granted for contributions to the field of clinical chemistry. Individuals selected have made significant contributions in all aspects of clinical chemistry, particularly service, education and research; have achieved international stature and reputation by virtue of their efforts; and have demonstrated long standing service to the AACC, either at the grass roots, national and/or international levels.

Mary Lou Gantzer, PhD
Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics
Newark, Del

This award recognizes individuals who have worked throughout their careers to advance the professional status of clinical chemists and the professional objectives of the AACC. Historically, this award has been conferred upon our senior scientists, who have made significant contributions to clinical chemistry in its growth phase.

Edward Ashwood, MD
ARUP Laboratories/University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

This award recognizes an individual who has devoted a major portion of his/her professional life to enhancing the practice and profession of clinical chemistry through education. The educator selected has made significant, innovative, and/or cumulatively outstanding contributions to education in clinical laboratory science. These contributions should include excellence in education beyond the local level, with widespread recognition of the recipient’s excellence which may include teaching, directing, mentoring, writing, and speaking abilities, ideally to multiple levels of audiences.

Hashem Akhavan-Tafti, PhD
Lumigen, Inc.
Southfield, Mich

The award recognizes an individual (or individuals) for contributions to the field of clinical chemistry through the creation of new technologies or analytical methods, or through significant adaptations for application to clinical laboratory diagnostics of technologies from other fields. This award will be given in odd numbered years only.

Linnea Baudhuin, PhD
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minn

Awarded to an individual who must not have reached the age of 40 by January 1 in the year in which the award is to be given and must be an AACC member, this award recognizes and encourages the professional development of a young investigator who has demonstrated exceptional scientific achievements early in his or her career. It is given based on the degree of originality exhibited in the individual’s creative process and the significance of the research conducted relevant to the field of clinical laboratory medicine and is conferred upon an individual who has the potential to be a future outstanding investigator.

Peter C. Nowell, MD
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Philadelphia, Pa

This award recognizes especially meritorious research contributions by an individual in a specific area of clinical chemistry. Clinical chemists who have received this award have achieved national and international status for their pioneering efforts in an area of research considered fundamental to the science and are considered among the world’s foremost experts in that specific discipline.

Catherine Hammett-Stabler
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC

This award is given each year to the AACC’s immediate past president to honor his or her important contributions to the field of clinical laboratory science throughout his or her career and to acknowledge the recipient’s many contributions to the AACC.

American Association for Clinical Chemistry